Work or Play?

As I mentioned in previous posts, part of why my trip was so exciting for me was because I was actually working part of my internship while I was having fun traveling and exploring the world. While I was in Europe, I was responsible for generating social media content for Global Threads. I have never done anything like that before. I wouldn’t even call myself a social media guru… I’m just obsessed with it and use it all of the time. I do not know that magic formula for generating likes or getting people to follow your mission through social media. So this was such an incredible learning experience for me.

When I went to Europe, I was sent with a bunch of t-shirts for myself and friends. Our goal was to take a bunch of pictures with these shirts in iconic places all over the world, and to also show the experience through snapchat! When I was first given this task, I for sure thought it would be the easiest job in the world. Little did I know it would actually be pretty difficult.

Part of why this was so hard for me was because I had such a hard time balancing my own social media and the snapchats for Global Threads. I really just found myself wanting to update my own social media. Having to work for another company in the social media realm was very difficult for me in that sense. I was constantly logging in and out of multiple accounts and it just took so much time. I also found it hard to always wear the tank top I was given. I was in Europe! I wanted to look cute everyday. So I didn’t want to wear a t-shirt, and that is something that I did not take into consideration before I left for the trip.

These little things definitely added up making this aspect of my trip a little difficult. But, it was really fun to come back and brainstorm with Kyle, the CEO of Global Threads to figure out a solution to these issues, especially with the t-shirt issue. We brainstormed creating merchandise like flags, banners, or pins to send with students abroad. That is why I love the start up company atmosphere. It is a constant brainstorming sessions of what we can do differently or better to spread out mission and to get out name out there. Being in a startup, you are always looking for a different way of doing things. If you want to hear more on that listen to the latest Global Threads podcast where I talk about what it is like working in a start up company. CLICK HERE !!

That was just a quick little blurb of my trip. I’m going to take a short break from my Part III of this blog to talk about my favorite things I saw while in Greece and Germany.

Stay tuned for more!

-Chloe

Leave a Reply

